The Virgin Village – Pulga (Himachal 2)

So this I think is my second in the travel series.  I had to write this today, as I thought on one of your days not going so good, the best way is to relive some of that unforgotten beauty.

So coming back to Pulga, for me Pulga was like Alice’s rabbit hole.  It was my discovered wonderland. To get to Pulga we took a car from Kasol to Barsheni and then we trekked there. Thats the most wonderful thing in fact, there is no roadway up to Pulga. You have to walk it. As we kept walking up, even though I felt burdened under the weight of my bag, I realised still that this was one of the most beautiful places I had seen.

A little stream of water running down the rocks, while I walked on the rocks, amidst the numerous green trees and shrubs I felt like it was one of those times that I wish I could pack into a haversack. As we walked on I still remember the smiles all of us had. the funny thing is I dint realise it that day, but while I am writing this post I remember how excited all of us were. Like children discovering something new.

In Pulga, while my friends concentrated on their ‘rural projects’ I just soaked in slowly but steadily the beauty around me. I saw the people, felt the warmth. It was like out of one of India’s folklores, with wooden houses and small pillars, with small roads and a whole small town that you could lose yourself in. There were blocks of beautiful flowers, and the roofs had corn drying on it. We went on to eat at a small place, I think that was actually the only place to eat there. And it was amazing how there was a very interesting menu. I don’t remember much of the food (and thats saying something) because I cannot still get over how beautiful the moon looked that night. We were sitting in a corner of this very small underground sort of dhaba, and the most striking thing for me was the moon that day. It was almost the full moon, and the rays fell on these bright orange flowers giving them this beautiful reddish tinge. It was to say the least most perfect I had ever seen the moonlight blend with nature.

And it was real, not out of stories, I could feel the breeze on my face. And all that happened there was almost a blur. We were a group of four and we even met two other very nice tourists and made friends with them. But I don’t think I can write too much about that because I am still not over the colors that I saw so brightly that night.

After dinner we made our way to our cottage, I still remember a friend of mine talking of it as the tree house. And thats exactly how it felt. Felt like I was child again, back in this tree house that a city could never give me. And staring at the moon, laughing, smiling, we all went to sleep.

The next morning was something of a revelation. I am more of a night person than anything else. But that day the morning held a new meaning for me. I saw the sun reflect on to the corns that were drying on the roof, it rose from behind the mountains and started talking to the people of the village, small children were up and about, the birds were singing and there was such serenity about the place.

I could not believe that this can be true. And that morning as I walked down from Pulga I knew that I would come back. And I think that would be part two of this series, I can only say that once in a lifetime. You should meet Pulga.

Leave a Reply

